top of page


“I find myself so emotionally involved in this series at times that I have to remind myself that this isn't actually occurring.” – Reader Review

A devastating EMP attack thrusts most of America into darkness, except for one state that has taken the steps to protect its power grid – Texas.

The Lone Star Series is a thought-provoking, gut-wrenching look into a post apocalyptic world devastated by nuclear destruction.


World War III is imminent and a new President faces terrible choices as she navigates the shark-infested waters of Washington, and the geopolitical complexities around the world. 


From Washington to Austin to a ranch in West Texas, decisions are made to protect the lives of Americans, some of which are considered selfish, rather than for Americans’ survival. 

I wrote the Lone Star series with the Foreword by Dr. Peter Pry, the Chief of Staff to the Congressional EMP Commission, in order to raise awareness of the EMP threat.

– Bobby Akart


Note: The Lone Star series does not contain strong language. It is intended to entertain and inform audiences of all ages, including teen and young adults.


Lone Star Book 6


We’ll live to fight another day!

With those words, a hero rose to the challenge and a family found the strength within themselves to face the unthinkable. 


Suicide Six is about as perfect of an ending you can write for a series…”


Lone Star Book 5


Enemy forces gather under the veil of darkness;

Mobilizing to strike a fledgling nation.

Will this clandestine Fifth Column achieve its acts of


“This story is filled with edge of your seat moments where you have no idea which way things will go.”


Lone Star Book 4


Texas Free! Texas Strong!

A battle cry rallied a new nation.

But a storm is brewing which could challenge the Texans’ way of life.


“Filled with emotional scenes that had me in tears along with a few surprises that I DID NOT see coming.”


Lone Star Book 3


As America suffered, borders were defined and Lines in the Sand were drawn.

Would you be willing to cross the lines in the sand to survive?


“Man, this series just keeps getting better and better.”


Lone Star Book 2


New borders are defined.

Americans will try to cross them.

Texans will defend them.


“I am reminded of Tom Clancy; each novel is thoroughly researched.”


Lone Star Book 1


The Axis of Evil had the perfect strategy.

Destroy the heartbeat of America.

Invade with their million man army.

But there was one thing they didn’t count on … Texas.


“Clancy watch out for Bobby Akart.”


Red Rover, in Beyond Borders, was Bobby Akart’s vintage Land Rover that he nicknamed Red Rover.


The Miss Behavin’ reference in Texas Strong was a nod to his Boston Brahmin readers.


The title Suicide Six, was inspired by the name of a ski slope, during a visit to Woodstock, VT.


Captain Andrew E. Abbey in Axis of Evil was named after an actual vintage Navy chest that Bobby Akart bought from an antique store in TN. The chest belonged to Ensign A.E. Abbey.

When fiction becomes reality: The President and Vice President were inspired by an administration that was no where on the radar at the time of writing or publishing The Lone Star Series.

The post-apocalyptic genre doesn't get much better than this. From book 1 to book 6, edge of your seat, page turning writing with engaging characters.
bottom of page